Photo captions

The EU plans to lift entry restrictions for many countries and territories

Passengers queue at the check-in counter at Duesseldorf airport, western Germany. Documentary photo: AFP/VNA

Specifically, this list of countries with no restrictions on entry to the EU will include Albania, North Macedonia, Serbia, Lebanon, the US and 3 Chinese territories including Taiwan, Macau and Hong Kong. However, each EU member state can decide on its own to introduce additional regulations for people who want to enter their country such as having to submit a negative test result for SARS-CoV-2 or undergo mandatory isolation. tie.

According to a spokesman for the rotating EU presidency, Portugal, the decision will be officially announced later this week. However, it is not clear when the decision will officially take effect.
In order to prevent the disease from spreading, 27 EU countries have restricted all entry activities for non-essential purposes. A number of countries outside the EU, including Norway, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and Iceland, have joined the implementation of similar measures.

Currently the EU list includes Australia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. The condition for countries to be included in this list is that the rate of new infections in the past 14 days is less than 75 cases per 100,000 population. According to aggregated data by the European Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the rate in the US is currently 73.9 per 100,000 population.

In a statement on June 18, German Transport Minister Andreas Schuer expressed hope that air traffic between Europe and the US would return to a new normal in the next few weeks.

Meanwhile, Lufthansa CEO Carsten Spohr said he hopes the US will soon allow Europeans to enter, thereby boosting air transport.

According to a newly announced decision, Germany allows Americans who have been vaccinated against COVID-19 to enter the country from the end of June.

Related Posts