Random Sport

Naomi Osaka won the Australian Open


Naomi Osaka won his fourth Grand Slam, after defeating Jennifer Brady 6-4, 6-3 in the Australian Open final on February 20.

Like the last encounter in the 2020 US Open semi-finals, Brady caused many difficulties for Osaka in the first set. But after missing the break-point when the score was 4-4, the American tennis player lost breath six games in a row and let everything slip out of control. Osaka, with a 6-4, 6-3 win, maintained the Grand Slam championship record every time they reached the quarterfinals.

Osaka won the second Australian Open.  Photo: AP.

Osaka won the second Australian Open. Image: AP.

Osaka led 4-1 in the first set, but Brady equalized 4-4. A perfect ball tire in game nine gave seed 22 a break-point, but Osaka saved it after a series of durable balls. In the next game, Brady had to save the break-point and set-point, but the American player failed in a good situation on the net.

Down in his spirit after the bad ball phase, Brady more and more drowned and lost the first four games of set two. Despite winning a game of catching the ball later, the American player could not catch up to his 23-year-old opponent and accepted defeat after an hour and 17 minutes.

Osaka became the 16th female tennis player in history to hit the fourth Grand Slam, and the first to win four Grand Slam finals at the beginning of his career, since the Monica Seles in 1990. Only three people did this in more than one year. Half a century ago, it was Seles, Osaka and Roger Federer.

In the last nine women’s tennis Grand Slams, Osaka won it four times, and the remaining five titles were split equally among five different people. The Japanese tennis player has won 21 consecutive matches, and is seen as the new dominant symbol of women’s tennis, after Serena Williams. On the way to the final, Osaka saved two match points in the victory over Muguruza, then defeated Serena himself.

Osaka (right) convinces Brady in the final.  Photo: AP.

Osaka (right) convinces Brady in the final. Image: AP.

Only four female tennis players who have won four or more Grand Slams remain in the competition. Besides Osaka, the other three are all older players, including Venus Williams, Serena Williams and Kim Clijsters. On Monday, Osaka will rise to number two in the world, second only to Ashleigh Barty.

For Brady, failing in the final against an outstanding opponent of class is not too bad. The American player received much acclaim, being the only one in a group of 72 strictly isolated players into the fourth round. The Australian Open was also the first Grand Slam that Brady attended in the final.

Nhan Dat



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *