Random Sport

Find the most controversial Golden Ball in history


Golden Ball or Ballon d’Or is known as the most prestigious individual award of a football player. However, the most worthy person is not always chosen.

The Golden Ball is an annual award given to the player with the most impressive performance of that year. However, there are QBVs that caused controversy by not actually giving them to the right people.

5. Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid / Italy) – 2006

Fabio Cannavaro is undoubtedly one of the best midfielders in the world in 2006. This humble stature player isã with the Italian team that won the FIFA World Cup as a backbone of defense that year.

However, Cannavaro played alongside the best defenders in history. That is why many people were shocked when the Real Madrid star received this award. Many people believe that the right person in the Azzuri wooden frame – Gianluigi Buffon, is the most worthy person.

Cannavaro and Buffon in 2006. Photo: Getty

Buffon was said to be the best goalkeeper in the world at that time, when he helped the team to receive only 2 goals during the World Cup campaign. Even so, that performance still didn’t seem enough.

4. Luka Modric (Real Madrid / Croatia) – 2018

The midfielder 1985 was the one to put an end to the dominance of Ronaldo and Messi at this award. However, in many respects, Modric’s 2018 was not as impressive as his two colleagues.

The Real star did indeed play well in Argentina’s journey to the World Cup final, but the midfielder’s contribution to the goal was not enough to help him outperform Cristiano Ronaldo.

Photo 1
Modric has a memorable World Cup. Photo: Getty

The former Tottenham star also only got 2 goals and 8 assists after 43 games in Real’s shirt, in the 2017/18 season. Meanwhile, CR7 has scored 44 goals and assisted 8 times that season.

3. Michael Owen (Liverpool / England) – 2001

Liverpool’s main striker had an impressive season, helping the port city team win the treble with 24 goals scored. However, the former England international’s record that year was still inferior to Real Madrid’s Raul Gonzalez.

“Lord of the Rings” ended the season with 32 goals in 50 games, winning the Pichichi Prize that year. Collectively, this legend also won the La Liga and the Champions League championship, as the top scorer of both tournaments.

Photo 3
Owen overtook Raul. Photo: Getty

So when Owen won the Ballon d’Or in 2001, many people protested. Because obviously, Raul had a more explosive season.

2. Pavel Nedved (Juventus / Czech Republic) – 2003

2003 was a pity for Thierry Henry, who was then considered the best player ever to play in the Premier League. Henry was at the height of Europe in 2003, so but The golden ball fell again into the hands of Juventus winger Pavel Nedved.

Juventus did well that season, keeping the Serie A title as well as raising the Italian Super Cup. However, Nedved is certainly not the most prominent star, having scored only 8 goals in all competitions.

Photo 4
Nedved is not a prominent name for Juve. Photo: Getty

When compared to Henry, who had 42 goals and 26 assists that season, Nedved’s record was simply too modest. The Frenchman returned that year as PFA Player of the Year and FWA Player of the Year.

1. Matthias Sammer (Borussia Dortmund / Germany) – 1996

The German defensive midfielder possesses ability clogged good ball and dribbling. But, the qualities there It is hard to win the Ballon d’Or. Yet it happened.

Alan Shearer, who finished third in the Ballon d’Or that year, won the Premier League top scorer and Premier League Player of the Year. “King of bombs” scored 28 goals in all competitions, helping Newcastle for the first time in history destination Premier League is in 2nd place.

Player about second that year in the Golden Ball election was none other than Ronaldo Nazario. The Brazilian forward ended the season with 34 goals in 37 games for Barcelona, ​​becoming La Liga top scorer.

Photo 5
The most controversial QBV in history. Photo: Getty

“Aliens” led Barcelona to the Copa del Rey, the Spanish Super Cup and the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup. With 47 goals, Ronaldo also holds the European Golden Shoe.

All predicted that Ronaldo, the striker who stunned the world, would win QBV that year. However, the legend of Samba was 1 vote behind Sammer.

Jurgen Klopp admitted one thing after the defeat against MU

Bruno Fernandes revealed the ‘master’ just unusual free kick

VIDEO: The solo masterpiece helped Son win the highest FIFA award




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *